parquest capital

fr
unither

the company

    Created in 1993 following the acquisition of one of Sanofi’s industrial pharmaceutical sites (€3M sales at the time), Unither experienced a rapid growth in the pharmaceutical sub-contracting niche market to become a world leader of the unitary sterile dose market (BFS technology) and a world key player of pharmaceutical sub-contracting.

    Pioneer on the segments of the unitary sterile dose, Unither has rapidly diversified its offer, especially through organic and external growth with new galenic forms (liquid sticks pack in particular), a client oriented galenic R&D activity and an international development of sales and production capacities.

    With a 2016 turnover of more than €250M, 6 production sites (of which one in the US and one in Brazil) and one R&D site in France, Unither is today among the world leaders of the pharmaceutical sub-contracting niche markets where it operates.

THE PROJECT

In November 2006, Parquest Capital acquired Unither as a majority shareholder with the objective to support the management team in carrying out an ambitious development plan in France and Europe.

Over the 2006-2011 period, Unither strengthened its European leadership in the unitary sterile dose market (BFS) all the while developing in new market segments (e.g. liquid stick pack) thanks to its R&D proficiency. Parquest Capital supported the group’s development strategy with the necessary financial and growth resources in particular with the extension of the Amiens production site and the acquisition of the Sanofi site located in Colomiers.
During this period, the group’s turnover increased from €75M to €160M.

At the end of 2011, Equistone Private Equity became the group's new majority shareholder following a decision taken jointly with the management team to enlarge the funding, next to Parquest Capital (remaining a significant shareholder) and the management team, to a new investor with a wider capital base in order to support Unither's ambitious growth plan and to make the group the world leader in its markets. Over the 2011-2017 period, Unither has pursued its international development in particular with the acquisition of a US production site in October 2013, a plant in Brazil in December 2015 and the set-up of an office in China mid-2016.
During this period, the group's turnover has grown from €160M to €250M.

Early 2017, the management organized a new funding led by Ardian in which Parquest Capital renewed its participation. Relying on this new funding, the management team will continue its development by consolidating its leading positions with an international focus.

MAIN ACHIEVEMENTS

  • March 2017 - Parquest Capital renews its support to Unither group
    Learn more...
  • January 2016 - Build-up – Unither Pharmaceuticals acquires a brazilian manufacturer
    Learn more...
  • October 2013 - Build-up – Unither Pharmaceuticals acquires a US plant
    Learn more...
  • June 2013 - Build-up – Unither Pharmaceuticals will acquire a US plant
    Learn more...
  • October 2011 - New partnership with Unither Pharmaceuticals
    Learn more...
  • January 2009 - Unither Pharmaceuticals acquires Sanofi-Aventis’ production site in Colomiers, Haute-Garonne
Investment date 2006, 2011, 2017
Divestment date -
Sector Pharma DCMO
Deal type MBO
Headquarters Amiens (80)
Turnover (€M) 250
Headcount 1300
CEO Eric Goupil

parquest capital

en
unither

la société

    Créé en 1993 par le rachat d’une usine pharmaceutique au groupe Sanofi (3 M€ de CA à l’époque), Unither s’est rapidement développé sur des marchés de niche de la sous-traitance pharmaceutique pour s’imposer aujourd’hui comme le leader mondial sur le marché de la dose unitaire stérile (technologie BFS) et comme un acteur de référence de la sous-traitance pharmaceutique dans le monde.

    Pionnier sur les segments de la dose unitaire stérile, Unither a progressivement diversifié son offre, principalement par croissance interne et croissance externe, pour l’enrichir de nouvelles formes galéniques (sticks liquides notamment), d’une activité de développement galénique au service de ses clients et développer ses ventes et ses capacités de production à l’international.

    Avec un chiffre d'affaires de plus de 250 M€ en 2016, 6 sites de production (dont un aux Etats-Unis et un au Brésil) et un site de R&D en France, Unither fait aujourd’hui partie des leaders mondiaux sur les marchés de niche de la sous-traitance pharmaceutique sur lesquels il est présent.

le projet

Parquest Capital est entré au capital d’Unither en novembre 2006 pour soutenir, en tant qu’actionnaire majoritaire, l’équipe de management dans la mise en œuvre d’un plan de développement ambitieux en France et en Europe.

Sur la période 2006-2011, Unither a ainsi renforcé son leadership européen sur le marché de la dose unitaire stérile (BFS) tout en se développant, grâce à son savoir-faire R&D, sur de nouveaux segments de marchés (sticks liquides notamment). Parquest Capital a soutenu cette stratégie de développement en apportant les moyens nécessaires au renforcement des ressources du groupe et au développement de l’activité via notamment l’extension de l’usine d’Amiens et le rachat du site de Sanofi situé à Colomiers.
Le groupe est passé sur la période d’un chiffre d’affaires de 75 à 160 M€.

En fin d’année 2011, Parquest Capital, en concertation avec l’équipe de management, a cédé la majorité du capital à Equistone Partners Europe tout en restant un actionnaire significatif dans le nouveau tour de table aux côtés de l’équipe de management. Sur la période 2011-2017, Unither a accéléré son développement à l’international avec notamment le rachat d’un site de production aux Etats-Unis en octobre 2013, le rachat d’un site de production au Brésil en décembre 2015 et l’ouverture d’un bureau en Chine mi-2016.
Le groupe est passé sur la période d’un chiffre d’affaires de 160 à 250 M€.

Début 2017, le management s’est associé à un nouveau tour de table de financiers emmené par Ardian auquel participe une nouvelle fois Parquest Capital. Le management s’appuiera sur les moyens apportés par ce nouveau tour de table afin de poursuivre son développement en consolidant ses positions de leader notamment à l’international.

les réalisations

  • Mars 2017 - Parquest Capital renouvelle son soutien au groupe Unither
    En savoir plus...
  • Janvier 2016 - Build-up – Unither Pharmaceuticals renforce sa présence sur le continent Sud-Américain par l’acquisition du CDMO Brésilien Mariol Industrial
    En savoir plus...
  • Octobre 2013 - Build-up – Unither Pharmaceuticals fait l'acquisition de l'usine pharmaceutique d'UCB à Rochester (Etats-Unis)
    En savoir plus...
  • Juin 2013 - Build-up – Unither Pharmaceuticals sur le point d’acquérir une usine américaine
    En savoir plus...
  • Octobre 2011 - Nouveau partenariat sur Unither Pharmaceuticals
    En savoir plus...
  • Janvier 2009 - Unither Pharmaceuticals acquiert le site de production de Sanofi-Aventis à Colomiers (Haute-Garonne)
Date d’investissement 2006, 2011, 2017
Date de sortie -
Secteur Façonnage pharmaceutique
Type d’opération MBO
Lieu Amiens (80)
CA (M€) 250
Effectif 1300
Dirigeant Eric Goupil