parquest capital

fr
sogec

the company

  • Founded in 1971, Sogec Marketing is the French leader for the management of promotion tools on behalf of consumer brands and HMSM chains.
  • Its activities include the clearing of rebate coupons and the management of money refund offers as well as the management of marketing databases.

the project

Structuring and growth acceleration

In 2005, Louis Wintenberger, Sogec's founder and CEO, decided to sell the group and withdraw from operations. At that time, Parquest Capital teamed up with Thomas Wolf, then CEO of Catalina Marketing France, company specialized in the issue of targeted rebate coupons through in-store printers, and convinced Sogec's CEO of their ability to take on the group's future challenges. Led by Parquest Capital, the LBO was completed with Thomas Wolf as new CEO and associated other key managers in the operation setup.

MAIN ACHIEVEMENTS

For 5 years, under such a fresh boost, the group has considerably strenghtened and modernized in technological aspects and processes as well as in marketing and commercial strategies. The company has developed new profitable activities and invested in digital technologies with the creation of e-couponing solutions.

In 2010, Mediapost group, specialized in relationship marketing, leader of targeted printed advertisements in mailboxes and member of La Poste group, acquired Sogec. Through the pooling and sharing of their know-how, this new partnership should lead to a comprehensive range of promotional offers enabling advertisers to target consumers all the way from their home to the point of sale.

TESTIMONY

"From the first steps we took together on the project, Parquest Capital and ourselves founded a relationship based on trust: our relationship has always been well-balanced; between, on the one hand the provision of expertise and strategic judgements, and on the other hand, respect, listening, and an autonomous management."

"Our partnership is driven by a dynamic in which both sides fully share their added value. Our objective is to successfully accomplish the project undertaken within an atmosphere of transparency, of conviviality and of sharing, which gives our adventure a human dimension, altogether appreciated.”
Thomas Wolf, CEO of Sogec Marketing."

Investment date October 2005
Divestment date December 2010
Sector Couponing, promotion tools management
Deal type BIMBO
Headquarters Villebon (91)
Turnover (€M) 35
Headcount 540
CEO Thomas Wolf

parquest capital

en
sogec

la société

  • Créé en 1971, Sogec Marketing est le leader français de la gestion des opérations de marketing promotionnel pour le compte des marques de la grande consommation et des enseignes de la grande distribution.
  • Sogec assure notamment la compensation des coupons de réduction et des offres de remboursement ainsi que la gestion de bases de données marketing. Sogec propose aussi à ses clients une gamme très large de services marketing, incluant le conseil en gestion de la relation clients et la gestion logistique associée aux opérations promotionnelles.

le projet

Structuration et accélération du développement

En 2005, Louis Wintenberger, dirigeant fondateur de Sogec, envisage de céder son groupe et de se retirer de la gestion opérationnelle. Parquest Capital s’associe alors à Thomas Wolf, PDG de Catalina Marketing France, société spécialisée dans l’émission de coupons de réduction en caisse des magasins, pour convaincre le dirigeant de leur capacité à relever les défis du développement futur. Le LBO mené par Parquest Capital voit ainsi Thomas Wolf prendre la direction du groupe et associe certains autres cadres clés au montage de reprise.

les réalisations

Pendant 5 ans, sous cette nouvelle impulsion, le groupe s’est considérablement renforcé et modernisé sur les plans tant technologique que marketing et commercial, développant de nouvelles activités rentables et investissant le monde digital avec notamment la création de solutions de e-couponing.

En 2010, la société a été acquise par le groupe Mediapost, filiale du groupe La Poste, spécialiste du marketing relationnel et leader de la distribution ciblée d’imprimés publicitaires en boîtes aux lettres. A travers une mise en commun des savoir-faire ce rachat doit permettre de proposer à tous les annonceurs une palette complète de dispositifs promotionnels pour accompagner le consommateur depuis le cœur du foyer et jusqu’au lieu de vente.

témoignage

"Dès les premiers pas de notre projet, s’est construit une relation de confiance entre l’équipe Parquest Capital et nous-mêmes: les échanges qui animent notre relation sont toujours équilibrés entre d’une part un apport d’expertise, de jugement stratégique et de compétences spécifiques; et d’autre part un respect, une écoute active et une liberté opérationnelle nécessaires à la conduite efficace de notre business."

"Le fil conducteur de notre partenariat repose donc sur une dynamique où chacun joue pleinement son rôle « d’apporteur de valeur ajoutée » dans la seule finalité de la réussite du projet d’entreprise, dans un climat de transparence, de convivialité et de partage qui confère à notre aventure une dimension humaine particulièrement marquante."
Thomas Wolf, Président de Sogec Marketing

Date d’investissement Octobre 2005
Date de sortie Décembre 2010
Secteur Opérations promotionnelles
Type d’opération BIMBO sur société familiale
Lieu Villebon (91)
CA (M€) 35
Effectif 540
Dirigeant Thomas Wolf